Joyeux Noël

25 Dec

gingerbread man

Josh and I have been learning French! We are both getting really quick at translating sentences like Je mange une pomme et elle boit du vin.

This was my first white Christmas. It was probably Josh’s 15th or 20th. The whiteness of Christmas did not have as much impact on the holiday as you would expect from the songs. Maybe because sleigh rides are no longer the thing?

white christmas

A tiny bit of snow

This past week I was so busy racing around trying to get boxes assembled and mailed to relatives that I forgot that half of them were going to be away from their homes over Christmas. So much for trying to think of everything. I blame Pinterest for making me overly ambitious.

fatigue

It is comforting to know that if I fall asleep on the couch someone will fall asleep next to me and someone else will take our picture.

Miss Ida was so exhausted from watching me race around that she fell asleep in the bath. A candidate for Dead Cats:

cat fatigue

Too tired to lick self

candy cane

These did not make it into the Christmas boxes. Because they are ugly.

The cookies I did really enjoy making were the gingerbread. I used this recipe and the dough was very workable. I’ve never made gingerbread men before but I’ll be making them again fo sho.

Despite the cold outside and ice forming around the doors and windows, we can’t seem to get it cold enough in our room at night for our fat down comforter to be comfortable. It’s too hot to sleep under the comforter and just barely too cold to kick it onto the floor. So Downie (in her holiday red cover) got relegated to the foot of the bed and Quilty made a comeback from the guest room! This lovely quilt was made by my Aunt Kate.

quilty

On Christmas Eve we watched It’s A Wonderful Life. Then Josh made cheeseburgers for dinner, a family tradition from his side that I am happy to espouse.

IAWL

Welcome home, Mr. Bailey.

We went to midnight Mass at a small parish near our apartment, and while Josh seemed nervous beforehand, I did what I could to assure him that he would not be persecuted and he later said that he was glad we went. I was really happy to hear a good choir singing songs I love, but I was somewhat surprised by all the changes made to the Mass. For instance, saying “And also with your spirit” whenever you would have said “And also with you” (!). There were a lot of things like that, and they were printed in the missal so it seems that I am really out of the Catholic loop. It made me a little sad that my Nicene Creed is outdated. But the overall experience was quite positive.

I would like to add that the woman in the pew in front of us was wearing a t-shirt and carrying a fleece-lined hoodie. I was wearing two pairs of sweater leggings under my pants, socks, boots, an undershirt, a shirt, and a cardigan, and I had just removed a heavy wool sweater and a wool coat and gloves and a scarf. The natives are tough people!

Ida wreaked her usual havoc during the night, waking us up several times with her shenanigans and disregard for personal space, and then Josh was waking me up on Christmas morning. At nine o’clock it was a balmy -11 degrees — so you can imagine how cold it was at midnight on Christmas Eve — and when we (Joshua) forced the balcony door open a couple hours later I made a silent pledge to stay indoors forever. Ida’s Christmas presents were being allowed to step out into the snow for a minute and then a can of tuna from the pantry. She seemed very emotional about the tuna, and as soon as she had gorged herself she passed out on the couch for hours.

tuna nap

I had purchased a 7-lb turkey breast for Thanksgiving before Josh decided that we were going to his boss’s house (that’s how it happened!), so I took it out of the freezer on Friday and put it in the fridge. Christmas morning in my gray polka-dotted sweater, orange ballet flats and flowery-stripey apron I helped Josh fill the new crock pot with turkey, apples and onions for our first Christmas dinner together. Josh is, I think, as excited as I am to have a crock pot in the house, and has already been spotted Googling “crock pot chicken wings.”

crock pot turkey

Think it’ll work? It’ll take a miracle.

table

It worked. :)

It was not the big family Christmas either of us is used to, but we were grateful to be together and we had a lovely day at home. Josh and I both want to wish everyone a very happy new year!

8 Responses to “Joyeux Noël”

  1. authoralaingomez December 26, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I’m following you as Alain because I don’t feel like making another account =)

    I like your table cloth! For some reason I never get around to adding table clothes. They seem like a lot of work.

    • littleapartment December 26, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Thanks! They are easy to apply, and I think they make a huge difference in a room.

  2. Elizabeth Morales December 30, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    I like that you used your china for Christmas dinner, and the gingerbread cookies were beautiful in addition to being delicious. Dominic liked them too. I’m glad you started a blog. It’s very enjoyable!

    • littleapartment December 30, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      Thanks! I hope it is. But I don’t have any cute kids to bedazzle it with.

  3. stephaniegerow January 2, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    I missed this somehow; I wasn’t notified by email about this post! The food looks delish. Apple sounds like it would be good in a crockpot with turkey.
    Glad you wore your shoes on Christmas. They made me think of Kaitlin.
    Very informative and entertaining post.
    Bonne année et bonne santé!

    • littleapartment January 2, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      I thought of her too. I couldn’t actually taste the apple’s influence. It may have been kind of an old, dried up apple. Merci beaucoup pour les compliments. Bonne année!

  4. Mom January 13, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    Those gingerbread cookies were too cute to eat, but I ate the last one today anyway. Yum!

    • littleapartment January 14, 2013 at 7:59 am #

      I have a couple left myself but I think they last forever.

Chime In

