You’re Invited…To A Little Pity Party

24 Jan

This is the pre-trip, pre-move post, an attempt to clear my brain by writing out everything I’m thinking about. In four short days I’m going to San Diego again…which would be something to look forward to with unadulterated happiness if I didn’t have SO MUCH to get done before I can go. While I’m gone, Josh is going to rent a U-haul and move our furniture and most of our stuff to the new house, with the help of his coworkers. At first I felt bad that I was missing all the work, but I’ve since realized that the actual move is just a small part of moving. Josh assures me I would only be in the way, as I’m useless at heavy lifting. (Guys and their fancy “upper-body strength.”) So my part will be organizing and packing everything we own, which appeals to my more persnickety side but also scares my not-a-self-starter side a little bit.

It’s not that I can complain about going to California, especially when it’s been negative temperatures here for a long time. I won’t mind being somewhere I can “go get something from the car real quick” without layering on outerwear for ten minutes, getting to the car to realize the lock is frozen, and then peeling outerwear back off and hanging it back up when I get inside. Sue me, I’m too lazy for this Northern lifestyle! I’m not proud to admit I’m that girl who can’t ABIDE to be cold but can’t always be bothered to zip her jacket. If Josh had a penny for every time he’s heard me say “I’m cold” we would be living in a castle on our own private island by now, flying family and friends out to visit us in our fleet of jets.

I guess this post will be kind of a downer, mostly because I’m realizing how bittersweet it is to leave our first apartment for good, and that is setting the tone for my writing. Everything less than ideal about this place (no laundry in unit, no pets allowed, off-center light fixture in the dining room lol) is getting harder to remember and every nostalgic bone in my body is dreading this upcoming move. But I know there will be so many benefits! Let me list some of them for ya, and for my nostalgic bones.

1. No twenty-mile commute for Joshie in bad weather. Tons of gas money saved, too.
2. Josh can even go home for lunch.
3. Closer proximity to people I know and like. We’ll be living near several nice families!
4. Niiice carpet in the new house. And two staircases, to keep me and Ida in shape.

stairs
5. Free laundry in our home! In a few months the washer and dryer we need to buy will pay themselves off. Good riddance, coin-op!
6. Attached garage for poor little Acura. That’s a big one!
7. Lots of bathrooms and bedrooms for out-of-town guests. Hint, hint :)

So after I pack everything, and somehow wrap my distracted brain around separating out things for my trip, things Josh will need before the move, things Josh will need right away at the new house, etc., I leave on Monday for a six-day trip to San Diego! I kept thinking it was only three days, and I still think of it as sometime in the distant future. I don’t know why. It’s almost for a week, and it’s almost time to go! Am I looking forward to a break from relentless winter? Sure. But compared to seeing Dominic and Christina (and you older people) it doesn’t really register on my anticipation scale. I watched a video of my almost 3-month-old niece babbling right before I wrote this, so I am even antsier than usual to see her again. And I’m always more than ready to see the boy who will always be a tiny baby to me.

baby

2010

6 Responses to “You’re Invited…To A Little Pity Party”

  1. Mom January 24, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    Yay! A new post! And a visit! And a new big place for guests! Sorry to miss the apartment – you’ll have to drive us by,slowly, playing mournful music … sniff.

    • littleapartment January 24, 2013 at 11:34 am #

      Thanks, Mom! At least you’ve seen lots of pictures of it :)

  2. authoralaingomez January 24, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

    I, for one, am quite excited about your visit. It’s quite timely. We can celebrate our collective birthdays as we slip quietly into our late twenties.

    • littleapartment January 25, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      Pretty sure late twenties means 29.

      • authoralaingomez January 25, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

        No. 20-23 = early. 24-26 = mid. 27-29 = late.

        • littleapartment January 28, 2013 at 7:26 am #

          I’ve always hoped to enter my late twenties peacefully, in my sleep.

Chime In

