Birthday Month

16 Feb

It’s still February.

For my birthday I chose Five Guys! Nothing else sounded quite so appealing. Every time we’re there, which is not often these days, I think of how we went there before we were married, back when we were so cute.

The apartment “downtown” is still ours until March 1st, but we were lucky to find someone via craigslist who will take over our lease! That has saved us approximately $2,500. ( Oh, thank Heaven. ♫) I’ve gone there three times and filled the SUV with stuff that didn’t make it onto the truck, and the place no longer feels like home. Every nostalgic bone in my body is totally over it! This weekend we’ll probably get the last few things (desk chair, guitar), clean the kitchen and bathroom, and then we can turn the page.

I think we’re all used to being in the new house, although it is badly in need of décor and we haven’t quite made a habit of closing the garage door when we should. The cat seems to have recovered from the transition which is good since I have to make her an appointment to be spayed. She hit six months a few weeks ago. For the rest of her life I pledge to ignore her saggy spinster belly and remember how before she was unsexed she was like a mountain lion.

You’ve heard about my basement stairs. For the record, they are slick, steep, shallow, painted wood. No good can come of this. Yesterday the replacement part arrived for the washer, and now we have a working laundry room down there! Which is A VERY GOOD THING. I’m sorry for ever being annoyed that my spouse brought home a free washing machine that didn’t work. A week and $20 later, it is as good as new.

washer

Before…

washer

After! Yay!

But a working laundry room does mean I’ll be going to the basement all the time, carrying things on those stairs that obscure my view of my feet. Josh recommends that I keep my cell phone with me in case I fall and can’t get up. I am toying with the idea of applying some sort of nonslip product to make the descent less dangerous, but I’m not sure how likely that is to come to fruition. Maybe that is something Dad could help me with next month when he is not shooting with Joshua?

We have an exciting new memory foam mattress topper that spent the last few days regaining its natural shape on the floor, but last night we put it on the bed and slept like a pair of babies with a cat sprawled between them. Thanks, my indulgent parents! Happy birthday to me! In return for your kindness, we’re going to buy a regular, firm mattress to trade out for our nice new pillowtop one and put the nice new pillowtop one in the guest room for when you visit.

sleep

And we will not let Ida sleep on your head when you visit.

One aspect of living in a house that I had kind of underestimated in my mind was the amount of snow-related work it would require. They inspect every Friday morning to make sure your sidewalk and driveway are completely free of snow and ice. Josh has devoted countless hours to this endeavor. I usually get out of the snow removal by working on dinner, but even when it’s too early to use that excuse he has been very chivalrous about insisting that I stay inside. I don’t want everyone to think that he is perfect. Sometimes he’s cranky and he will almost never watch Murder, She Wrote with me.

7 Responses to “Birthday Month”

  1. The D February 18, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    Yes, I can help with just about anything. Not saying it will come out okay, but I can sure help. And you can file that one under “BW” for Big Woop — in the Twilight Zone. Point 2: in the upper washing machine photo, is that a cat skulking around the washer with her high beams on? Liked that Siegfried Sassoon poem. Other great WW1 poets include Wilfred Owen (British) and America’s own Alan Seeger, a classmate of T.S. Eliot’s at Harvard who was killed in the 1916 Battle of the Somme. I think his poem “I have a rendezvous with death” is just about the best. Google it! It was Audie Murphy himself who observed that “War is a never-ending series of problems involving the blood and guts of men.”

    PS–kudos to Josh on the washer resurrection job. You’ve got a good man there, Em, take good care of ‘im.

    • littleapartment February 18, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks, Dad! Yes, that’s Ida in the picture. And you are right, the Seeger “Rendezvous” poem is really good. And you are right about Josh too. :)

      • The D February 18, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

        Thanks, Em. Really looking forward to seeing y’all. One possible solution that I’ve heard to the slippery step problem is to mix sand in with the paint. That way, you get a gritty, less slippery surface. Don’t know how long to dry though. Might be awhile in that climate. There could also be a mat type stuff in a home store that could be glued down. We can check it out, and I’m happy to help clear the snow off the drive, assuming we have blown it and arrived still during snow weather! If someone can check me out on a snow shovel, I could probably be of some use — hoorah! ;-)

        • littleapartment February 19, 2013 at 9:02 am #

          Since we’re renting, I think any change we make to the stairs has to be a temporary one. That’s why I was thinking self-adhesive rubber tread mats or something. I think by the time you’re here Josh will have repaired the chute on his snow blower so he may not need any shoveling help, but you could give it a whirl if you want to try it. :)

  2. Mom February 18, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Hey! Where’d my comment go? Or was it only scathingly brilliant in my mind? :-(
    Hi!!

    • littleapartment February 18, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

      What was it?

      • Mom February 19, 2013 at 11:28 am #

        Probably something like “Good job, Em.” Or, “Can’t wait to see it in person!”
        :-)

Chime In

