Marshmallow World

4 Mar

March came in like a lamb. Until last night I worried that we wouldn’t get much more snow and we would have to start dealing with vast quantities of mud that were already starting to appear everywhere, but it turns out my fretfulness was premature.

It’s the time for play, it’s a whipped cream day

My husband is cleansing (in case “detoxing” gives the wrong impression) his digestive system with dandelion tea, and I have been drinking green tea to keep him company. I made 5 dozen chocolate chip cookies on Friday and ate the last one on Sunday night, probably because I left them on the coffee table all weekend because we were drinking so darn much tea.

tea

When I made sugar cookie bars on Valentine’s Day I stopped after whipping the butter and sugars and threw the whole thing away because it smelled weird to me. Thinking it must have been my imagination or forgetfulness of how it usually smells, I whipped more butter and sugars, ignored the smell, and made the cookies, which tasted disappointing and which I was not proud to send to work with Josh, but I was hardly going to keep them at home. Last night my Kraft macaroni and cheese had the same disappointing taste. Here’s what it is, you guys: Sam’s Club “Daily Chef” salted butter. It has a funky smell, can you believe it? And can you believe it took me weeks to make the connection? I use butter all the time.

Breakfast: A slice of toast with a perfectly poached egg on it. Josh took a breakfast burrito, which I made a few weeks ago and froze. It contains sausage, scrambled eggs and hash browns, and if you heat it up right and put salsa on it, it can be pretty good.

On the menu for lunch: Leftover spaghetti.

Dinner: Domino’s pizza. It’s delivery.

kitten

Ida purrs and chirps at the frolicking neighbor dog.

9 Responses to “Marshmallow World”

  1. The D March 4, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    What is that little mutt doing in your yard? On second thought, never mind. PS- check your email for recent note and pic from me….

    • littleapartment March 4, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

      It hasn’t stopped snowing since I got up this morning. Josh thinks we got 8 inches already! Ida loves the dogs next door, at least from the safety of her house. Their yard is always dirtier looking than ours because they use it, but now both yards are perfect again.

  2. The D March 4, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

    Will need some schooling on what types of layers to bring on our trip. I want to get my Navy peacoat fixed in time to wear. It pulled some serious threads, while shooting, on my recent trip to Kingman, AZ. It’s WW2 Navy but, jey, we’re all in this 2gedder, right? PS, I guess the Christmas tree in your earlier pic is in the n’bor’s yard, right?

    • littleapartment March 5, 2013 at 7:35 am #

      I think it will be in the 30s when you’re here, which to me just means a warm jacket and maybe a scarf.
      The tree is ours.

  3. The D March 4, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    I failed to mention that the pic of Ida on the sill looking down at the neighbor’s dog is actually a terrific shot. Good depth of field/focus — and the implied action; oh!. Good job, Em!

  4. stephaniegerow March 15, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    I like how “butter and sugars” sounds kind of Mexican. Know what I mean? Also, what kind of Digiorno did you have? And what kind of green tea, and do you like it? Does Josh feel cleaner now?

    • littleapartment March 15, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

      Are you saying it doesn’t sound fully English? We did not have DiGiorno, we had delivery! We each got our own medium pizza. Mine was half cheese, half Hawaiian. The green tea is boring, and I am not much of a tea drinker. Josh probably doesn’t feel cleansed, but he has really cut back on caffeine and sugar so he probably does feel better than usual. Sorry for the probablies, but he’s not around to consult at the moment. I will get back to you.

      • stephaniegerow March 15, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

        That’s so weird! I don’t know how I read Digiorno and missed delivery! I don’t like green tea much either.

Chime In

