Easter

1 Apr

Have you ever wondered why so little fuss is made over Easter? Compared to Christmas, for example. Just seems weird.

When I decided to get married and move away from my family it was Christmas I worried about. I accepted that it would not always be within my power to observe Christmas where and with whom I chose, but I dreaded missing the hundreds of rituals associated with that time of year and made an effort to establish as many of them as I could in my new household. I didn’t think the lesser holidays (Easter, Thanksgiving, New Year’s) would be as much of an issue, because there isn’t much to them.

But the whole problem when there isn’t much to them is that if you aren’t careful they can kind of disappear. The gist of Easter as I’ve known it (aside from Easter baskets I guess) has been going to Mass/church with my family in the morning and then hanging out with cousins either at my Grandpa’s house or, in the old days, at the Del Cerro pool. Aside from seasonal candy I don’t associate any particular food with the holiday, and I don’t remember getting any decorations out of the garage every year. So when it comes to making Easter here for me and Josh, and I have no relatives or Grandpa’s house or pool to work with and no specific dishes or decor to recreate, I draw a big fat blank. Do we dye eggs? Fill baskets? That’s for kids. But Easter must be observed.

So I’ve been researching Lent and Holy Week and Easter and trying to decide what our rituals will be. And that’s when I run into that whole gray area that is Easter/Spring. Just what do the colored eggs and bunnies and chicks have to do with it again? Do we celebrate Easter with images of spring because they occur at the same time, the way we decorate for Christmas with snowflakes and snowmen, or are we really embracing the new life around us to remind us of our own new life? I have never bought into the bunnies and chicks thing, but maybe that’s just because I don’t like bunnies or chicks. Would putting eggs around my house make me feel more Eastery? Or just kind of eggy?

bunny

?

We ate chili for dinner last night, but maybe next year I will really try to cook lamb like a good Greek. I have been looking to my Greek Orthodox roots and I like their blood red Easter eggs (κόκκινα αυγά) and the cracking game that goes with them, but I’m not sure I can manage seven weeks of veganism followed by lamb. In fact I’m sure I can’t. What did my Protestant or Catholic ancestors do on Easter? Or my in-laws, for that matter? I don’t even know. My research continues.

So far for next year I’m leaning toward hot cross buns and Greek eggs. And if I plan a dinner menu, buy flowers and use the china, Easter Sunday will be more of a celebration.

Do you have any Easter traditions that don’t involve baby farm animals? I’d be grateful.

2 Responses to “Easter”

  1. stephaniegerow April 2, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    I made devilled eggs. That’s all I can offer to this discussion.

Chime In

