Chinook

27 Apr

It is beautiful here. The snow is melting and out of nowhere it was SIXTY DEGREES yesterday. I was never so excited to see 60, and today is supposed to reach 68. All the windows are open and I can see my entire patio for the first time. (It is oddly shaped and there is half a wiffle ball on it.)

My old college roommate is visiting from Oklahoma. Less than a week before Kiirsten’s arrival we had another snowstorm. I think to her disappointment, it all started to melt really suddenly and in just a few days most of the snow turned to mud puddles. At least she got to see a few frozen lakes on the way here.

Front yard snow April 15

front yard snow2

Front yard snow April 26

front yard snow

Front yard snow April 27

Ida probably doesn’t remember balmy weather and is living life in window sills these days, frantic to get closer to the noisy birds in our tree and bushes and maybe the dak rat that has burrowed under our steps. She is becoming very, very annoying.

dak rat

Urocitellus richardsonii or “dak rat” (Dakota rat) exhibiting territorial behavior

Kiirsten helped me find a table for our foyer. It matches the rug and fits perfectly in the corner by the coat closet, and Josh and I have been wanting something by the front door for keys and stuff. I pretty much love it, and I think I’m ready to turn my attention to the living room, which needs a ton of work and will be a lot harder to figure out. I do not have an eye for these things.

table

Ida’s favorite toy at the bottom of the stairs: twist tie wrapped around a Q tip.

book

This is the only interesting spot in a beige living room.

garlic

Here is my garlic and our sunny backyard. Josh threw some more cloves in there for good measure, but the first one is still the only one that’s sprouting.

instagram

Instagram photo of me wearing Josh’s beret. My Evangelou head stretched it out and he had to resize it ;(

8 Responses to “Chinook”

  1. Robert Hadzicki April 27, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    This was fun to read, Emmy :)
    Keep it up!

    • littleapartment April 27, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

      Haha, thank you I will. and please keep reading! it makes my day to get a comment :)

  2. Mom April 27, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    It’s warmer there than here today! Enjoy! I love the table!

    • littleapartment April 27, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

      Thanks Mom. I’m trying to be braver about bright colors. I am definitely enjoying the weather, today was the first time I have ever been barefoot outside in North Dakota. We cleaned out the cars and then I sat on the front porch for a while with the computer. Pretty amazing.

  3. johnsonscouts April 28, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    Love the table in the foyer. I’m also happy to see that you guys got some nice weather!

    • littleapartment May 2, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

      Thanks, Jennifer! It is cold again though, yesterday and today in the 30s. :/

  4. Mom April 30, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    How’s the garlic coming?

Chime In

