June Already

3 Jun

In a few short days we will have been married for one year! It’s hard to believe.

Once the flooding is past, warm weather in the plains means this:

lawn mower

and a lot of this:

mowing lawn

(and treating for dandelions 2x)

and some of this:

tractor

For the boy.

And it also means mosquitoes, but mosquitoes mean aerial spraying which means C-130s which are cool in my book.

Look at a our poor neglected dying tree.

dying tree

Josh spent hours pruning it and the shoots growing up around its base.

bud

Robert and Alex came to visit. Ida has been getting near-constant attention and is acting out less.

robalex

I put them to work in my poor neglected flower bed full of rocks and a huge prickly shrub that until lately hung over the sidewalk and grass. Whoever lived here before us did nothing to the lawn or garden but leave some of their kids’ broken toys around.

rocks

The plan is to plant my Asiatic lilies and some red and yellow tulips I’m going to steal from abandoned housing.

rocks2

Josh tamed the shrub but I’m tempted to poison it. It is so very sharp.

I also let them have fun sometimes.

quiddler

Yesterday I made one quart of concentrated low-sud laundry detergent from a recipe I found on Pinterest. I used half a bar of Fels-Naptha soap and a half-cup each of Borax and Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda. Boil it down, cool it off, whip it.

fels-naptha soap

Fels-Naptha can be used as a stain remover or to treat contact dermatitis.

blend

yum

whipped laundry detergent

It has the consistency of lime chiffon.

jar of laundry detergent

One tbsp per load. I should make a cute label.

If we decide we like it enough to replace our normal combo of All Free & Clear + Oxy Clean, here is the breakdown in cost:

$0.49 1/2 bar Fels Naptha
$0.18 1/2 c. Borax 20 Mule Team
$0.24 1/2 c. Super Washing Soda
$0.91 / 64 loads or $0.01/load

vs.

$14.98 Oxy Clean
$13.98 All Free & Clear
28.96 / 146 loads or $0.20/load

Or to put it another way, $2.45 vs. $34.71 per year.
Or, when we have six kids, $7.35 vs. $104.13 per year. With the money we save, we can have our minivans detailed every month.

All I know for now is this new stuff smells very nice.

Josh bought Ida a “super scooper” at the dollar store and she absolutely loves it. Robert led her to believe that it is a brush and an exciting toy all in one. We haven’t taken it to the litter box yet. :/

super scooper

Coming soon: flower bed update; the real reason we went to the dollar store

14 Responses to “June Already”

  1. butcheringsaint June 3, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    haha, it all starts with the pushmower! Projects forward! hey great pics, just stopping by and enjoyed your post! Enjoy the day and good luck with the shrubbery rocks!

  2. stephaniegerow June 3, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    You know what they say: Idle Ida is the devil’s workshop! I am curious to hear how you like the laundry soap stuff. It looks delicious. I made that pumpkin cream pie yesteday, but incorrectly, so now it’s going to be pumpkin ice cream pie…(frozen.) Haven’t tried it yet. I think you should spend the money you save on a ride-able lawn mower!

    • littleapartment June 3, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      I think she’s definitely more of a playground. pumpkin ice cream pie sounds good on a hot Texas day. Is it hot yet? it’s been quite cool here. if you love the pie, I might try to make it.
      I don’t want to spend any more money on yard equipment! I want an area rug. :)

      • stephaniegerow June 3, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

        it’s been hottish but not yet unbearable. It’s not bad today. JK about the lawn mower!

  3. Susie June 3, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    Your six kids won’t fit in the minivans, just a word to the wise. Well, I guess they’ll fit if you take both ;-)

  4. Elizabeth Morales June 3, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    I love the cost comparison. As I was reading, I was thinking “It would have been neat if she did a cost comparison.” And you did! I guess it’s right up my ally. If you save for about 10 years, you could probably get a pretty nice area rug.

  5. thelittlefarmhouse June 9, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    How do you like the soap? I will have to do a cost comparison here, too. I’m sure we spend much more on laundry soap than $35 a year!

    • littleapartment June 10, 2013 at 5:42 am #

      I like it so far. It smells nice and it seems to dissolve totally in the washer, which some reviewers said they had problems with. The laundry seems as clean as ever.
      I know we have spent more than that too although I tried to estimate how many loads I do per month. I think I never get as much mileage out of the detergent bottle as it says I will.

  6. Susie January 19, 2016 at 10:37 pm #

    How about now? I noticed you weren’t using the soap … Miss it?

    • littleapartment May 27, 2016 at 3:42 pm #

      I was just thinking of making more, actually! As soon as I get over this crippling laziness. :)

Chime In

