Pretzels and Cranberries

5 Dec

When you never have free time and energy at the same time, blogging is (apparently) one of the first things to go. In fact, here is a list of things that have fallen by the wayside:

1. blogging

2. Christie’s stocking and Robin’s blanket

3. dishes, laundry, bathrooms

4. my editing business

In case you cannot relate, let me tell you what I have observed about being 30ish weeks pregnant and 30ish pounds heavier than I’m used to and spending more waking hours standing up than sitting down: for someone who has never been whatever the opposite of sedentary is, these conditions make it REALLY HARD TO DO ANYTHING. Just ask Josh, he will verify that I mostly do nothing.

The good news is that I am quitting my job! I took a job as a store cashier shortly after realizing I was pregnant because the pay and hours were significantly better and would allow me to save about twice as much money as my bank job. I had planned to work at the store until January something, but Josh convinced me (quite easily) that quitting before Christmas would be better for many reasons. In fact, here are some of our reasons:

1. I haven’t really started any baby prep yet. Also I feel I have lost control of my messy house. Josh wants me to be able to relax and enjoy the last part of the pregnancy and feel somewhat prepared by Feb. 14 (and clean up after myself once in a while).

2. I don’t have to worry about working on Christmas Eve and every day preceding it because we are shorthanded, which would translate to not getting my shopping done and packages mailed in time.

3. The store accepted my application nearly a month ago for an open 24 hr/wk position, and then told me it might take months for it to happen because they are retards (my wording). To make things worse, I haven’t gotten a Saturday or Sunday off in a long time (except when I took leave to go to CA) which is sad because I never have a day to hang out with Joshua. Who wants Mondays and Thursdays off? Terrible. ;)

4. Plantar fasciitis. Needles and pins-uh.

5. Some People have been Getting On My Nerves. This has been getting worse the tireder I become, and is enough to make me pretty annoyed a lot of the time. It will be sad to leave nonetheless because I do like the limited social interaction with customers (introvert) and I like a lot of the people who work there.

6. Josh got a promotion!

Blah blah blah. Six reasons should be enough! The main one is that Josh said I should, and he doesn’t have any pregnancy brain affecting his way of thinking. If he wants to treat me like a delicate flower, that’s okay by this lady.

Last night after work I made a cranberry garland. I’d had Josh buy cranberries when he did the Thanksgiving shopping (I was working) and he put them in the fridge (logical), which was fine for the ones that became sauce but it might have made the ones for the garland a little weird. I have never bought fresh cranberries before but I was expecting them to be somewhat crisp and hard like a green apple, and most were more like very delicate grapes. Is that from refrigeration or just the way it goes? Anyway after a few days of resting on a cooling rack in the pantry, many were discovered to be like wooden beads or green apples or whatever and last night these ones were totally workable. The cats LOVED this activity, and have been playing with the same cranberry all around the house ever since. I ended up making a garland that was about 4 feet long (I didn’t measure) which was perfect for my counter-top Christmas tree. I think my next step will be to make those cinnamon ornaments for it, so it will have a food theme. Kitchen trees should have a food theme? I did not have any un-buttered popcorn so I went straight cran. For the big tree I might do a popcorn-cranberry one, but I might wimp out because I can see the cats knocking the tree down in the night. With any luck/momentum, right through the front window.

Cranberry garland

Cranberry garland

When we were in Texas meeting Robin, Betsy and Marcos had pretzel rolls from Costco. Josh has never forgotten how good they were, and has been talking for weeks about trying to make his own. We haven’t seen them for sale anywhere around here. After a bit of internet research, he made his first attempt (I was working):

Parboil pretzel rolls

Parboil

Bake pretzel rolls

Bake

Lovely pretzel rolls

Done!

Aren’t they perfect and adorable looking? He was disappointed that they tasted exactly like soft pretzels at the mall shaped like rolls. How do I describe the pretzel roll he was envisioning? Softer and more delicate, like a dinner roll, but with a delicious pretzel flavor. He will try again, and again if necessary. Meanwhile I love to eat them warmed up a little and dipped in mustard. :)

Quick pregnancy update: I can’t tell if I would be sore if it weren’t for my job, but that is really my only complaint. No swollen ankles or anything. Sometimes my back aches but Josh can usually fix it right up. I think I must still be in that golden age where I don’t feel sick and I don’t feel like a cow yet. The baby moves a lot, which is awesome! It makes me smile at work.

10 Responses to “Pretzels and Cranberries”

  1. stephaniechayrez December 5, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    Yay! I have been checking almost every day for an update. I love cranberry decor and like the idea of adding the cinnamon sticks. I’m really glad you get to quit your job! The pretzel rolls look amazing. Josh is definitely a keeper! Can’t wait to meet baby Evans! Don’t worry too much about Robin’s blanket! She’s smiling in her sleep right now. Not that that’s related.

    • littleapartment December 5, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      thank you! this update is totes for you. hopefully baby E will take after his dad and be a keeper, too. Robin is so sweet, she probably is thinking “I have so many nice blankets.”

      • stephaniechayrez December 5, 2013 at 10:58 am #

        He will likely be a keeper for taking after both his parents! She may have been thinking miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiilk. :)

  2. The D December 5, 2013 at 9:37 am #

    Great blog, Em! Loved the rolls. Congrats to Josh on the promotion.

    D

  3. Found This Painted That December 5, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    If it turns out you quit your job and you STILL get nothing done, enjoy it guilt free! That beautiful baby will rob your time after :) in a good way…

  4. Anonymous December 6, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    Congrats to Josh on the promotion. I say good for you and taking sometime to get ready for the baby, Josh is so smart. As is said above, you will be plenty busy in a couple of months.
    I think your tree is lovely, and i bet the big one will be as well. I was laughing at your cat and tree comments. Our Betsy has warned her grandmother not to put any precious ornaments on the tree, as Betsy’s cats have never been around a real tree, and may, make that probably will decide to give it a climb. Bad cats. Enjoy your holiday.
    and yes the rolls look really yummy, even if they did not quite fit the desired taste sensation.

    • Helen Kisner December 6, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

      Oops forgot to put my name on the above Anonymous comment

    • littleapartment December 10, 2013 at 9:09 am #

      Thanks Helen! We just got our big tree yesterday, and it was frozen wrapped up in the garden center so we are waiting for its branches to thaw/relax. The cats are way too interested already!

Chime In

