When It Isn’t Cold

8 Jul

Warm weather doesn’t last long here so I try to appreciate it. I’m not a very outdoorsy person and the mosquito problem combined with the humidity problem is almost enough to deter me altogether. But it will be snowy soon!

As I’ve said before, without mosquitoes we wouldn’t get to see the C-130 up close. I thought it had come and gone while we were in WV, but it was back a few nights ago and flew so low directly towards us across the field behind our house. It was so exciting and cool, I don’t know why. I didn’t get a good picture of it though because I was too distracted by it being here.

It was a really pretty night.

IMG_1183

This was the best picture I got of it.

These were all taken around 9 p.m. It stays light here so long that we accidentally go to bed way later than we should.

IMG_1182

IMG_1186

We don’t usually have clouds but we’ve been getting lots of rain lately.

IMG_1191

My flower bed is not quite on schedule. Last year I predicted that it would look like this in 2014:

But what actually happened was the lilies took over. I planted six of them last year only because I knew the tulips wouldn’t come up until this year, but as soon as it warmed up there were suddenly about forty lilies and nothing else.

IMG_1193

IMG_1194

There’s still hope for the gladioli because last year they bloomed in September. I guess the lilies are nice but I’d like some color besides orange and yellow.

I haven’t done any work in the garden at all this year, which I think is SO COOL. If we move out in the winter one day, and someone else moves in, and they are not really fast about ripping up the flower bed as soon as it thaws, they are suddenly going to be surprised by about 800 lilies. And a few months later, about ten red gladioli. You’re welcome! That’s the great thing about planting bulbs. After the initial planting you have an eternal flower garden for zero work. I don’t even water them. :)

20140707_151548

“My mama’s a genius.”

The new housing company is taking out all the chain link fences and putting up privacy fences. There is no such thing as a free fence though…they are cutting our backyards in half! It will be really little! Good thing we never use it. Here is the back of our house:

20140707_151855 (1)

Taken while on a walk that ended abruptly due to mosquitoes swarming around us and one going up my nose

And here are some pictures of my child today. Can you tell he is ready for a nap?

IMG_1202

I need to work on foreground/background focusing with the camera.

IMG_1200

I love his eye color!

IMG_1206

Sans pacifier

IMG_1225

He wanted it back.

4 Responses to “When It Isn’t Cold”

  1. The D July 8, 2014 at 10:32 pm #

    Very nice! So weird seeing everything without the 4′ snow drifts we’ve come to expect the two times we’ve been there. Didja get my email about using Bounce as a mosquito repellent? Lemme know if it works. Think you guys would be the ideal lab case.

    • littleapartment July 9, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

      Thanks, Dad. We use hypoallergenic dryer sheets because some of us have sensitive skin, but it sounds like we better invest in some Bounce and give it a try. :)

  2. stephaniechayrez July 17, 2014 at 8:37 am #

    Finally read the whole thing! That is cool about the garden! Robin likes the pics of Davy. And I do too!

Chime In

