Mr. Nursery

19 Jul

Since our boy is all grown up and sleeping in his own room, I had to address the fact that the nursery was not really ready for full-time use. Back when I was pregnant, I knew he would not sleep in his own room right away, so I had tiiiime. Well, time’s up. Time flies.

IMG_1293a

I’m huge, Mother.

Pouf! We added some seating. I have found it highly desirable to have somewhere to sit down in his room, mostly for night feedings but it’s nice for story time too. We read voraciously.

IMG_1309

I wanted everything to be versatile in terms of which room it belonged in. The chair may eventually be in the living room. The pouf (ottoman) will probably stay with the kid(s), because it will probably get grubby. Both are from Target. The pouf was on clearance and it matched the curtains, which are also from Target, and I thought a big striped blob might be kind of fun in a kid’s room. I originally bought the curtains in pale gray and they were beautiful but not at all light-canceling. They are marketed as blackout, and I will say with a double layer of black bed sheet behind them, the navy blue ones are effective. It would seem that the nursery is taking on a navy blue color scheme (don’t call it nautical). Let’s pretend it is all based on the changing pad cover, which is navy with red, lime green and light blue whales on it. The truck mobile happens to match the changing pad perfectly, and it is from Dominic.

IMG_1298

Don’t you hate when your shirt is too tight around the thighs?

We still don’t have a dresser, but I have a white half-bookshelf that I use for his books and toys as well as pajamas and burp cloths. The remainder of his things are hanging or in drawers in the closet. We are waiting on some wall art from Aunt Steph. ;)

We hang out in his room a lot now, and it’s kind of nice to have all his things consolidated geographically rather than having stations all over the house.

IMG_1303

I’m allowed on the pouf, but not on the chair. Or is it the other way around? I give up.

7 Responses to “Mr. Nursery”

  1. The D July 19, 2014 at 10:32 pm #

    Very nice! Great art photography and commentary to match. A superb effort!

  2. Mom July 20, 2014 at 12:53 am #

    So formal! Does he always call you Mother?

  3. stephaniechayrez July 20, 2014 at 6:12 pm #

    I love the pouf, and the curtains are even prettier in navy, in my opinion. The way he talks reminds me of that one time we were playing and you were the overprotective mother…? Remember? “Ok, mommy.” That’s how I picture his voice sounding.

    • littleapartment July 22, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

      Thank you very much. As I recall you turned me into an overprotective mother with that line! You should do improv.

Chime In

