Robin Quilt

11 May

Robin

I started this quilt for my niece Robin before her pudgy cheeks were even born and before I knew what her name would be.

Some of these pictures are horrible.

fabric

Day 1: My visiting mom helped me choose fabric.

Day 8: Having decided how I wanted it to look, I cut the pieces, arranged them, and pinned them together.

Day 198: Sewed them together

Day 216: “I’m a little cold.”

Day 535: “Did you forget about me?”

Day 690 – No joke: Having pinned the front to the batting and the back, I quilted them.

Quilty quilty

quiltedback

The back began to look like this

quiltedback2

Day 742: I began to sew the binding around the front of the quilt. After a while it became obvious that the quilt had gotten too heavy for the machine…oh wait, just Ida.

He was trying to hide because I was telling him to leave. Not the brightest

start bind

That SAME evening (applause) I began to hand-sew the back of the binding: the final step.

Along the way, you tend to take frequent pictures like this so you can convince yourself that you’ve really made progress. I had probably sewn about 8 inches.

The last step is the most time-consuming step, incidentally (day 746)

Ida was allowed to insert herself because it needed to be washed at the end anyway, and she is mellow enough to resist attacking the needle and thread most of the time.

My quilt, it has… Corners are a big deal.

bind1

Day 754: Quilt complete

bind2

8 Responses to “Robin Quilt”

  1. stephaniechayrez May 11, 2015 at 10:20 pm #

    We love it! I’m sorry I did not get you a pic of the quilt with the girl yet! :(

  2. Mo May 11, 2015 at 10:34 pm #

    I will take your quilting class anytime…
    Mo

  3. Aunt Fun May 12, 2015 at 12:52 pm #

    WOW! Very impressive—you’re hired.

    • littleapartment May 13, 2015 at 3:52 pm #

      This project makes me think I should charge by the hour ;)

  4. Linda May 14, 2015 at 12:19 pm #

    You did a great job!

    • littleapartment May 14, 2015 at 2:33 pm #

      Thanks! it was not as hard as I expected. I was very intimidated going into it.

Chime In